Council Members

Town of Viking Council Members

  • Mayor - James Buttner
  • Councilor Cindy Lefsrud
  • Councilor - Vacant
  • Councilor Dana Ewashko
  • Councilor  Julianna Merta

To learn more about Viking Town Council, scroll down for profiles.

The positions of Mayor and Councilors are at-large elections, meaning that each person elected represents the Town as a whole and not a particular section of the Town. The Town of Viking does not have a ward system. Council Meetings are held in Council Chambers, in the Town Administration building. The open session of the Council Meeting commences @ 1800 hours and members of the public are welcome to attend. Council meeting minutes are posted to this web site once approved by Council.

It is legislated under the Municipal Government Act (MGA) that municipalities within the province of Alberta are accountable:

To provide good government, To provide services, facilities or other things that, in the opinion of Council, are necessary or desirable for all or part of the municipality, and To develop and maintain safe and viable communities.

Council has developed governance policies to ensure Council provides good government and conducts its business in compliance with legislative requirements and best practices. In addition to this policy framework, Council is required to adhere to its Procedural Bylaw. The Procedural Bylaw outlines the decision making process followed by Council.

Council Governance Policies
Council Procedural Bylaw

The responsibilities of a member of Council are many. Besides attendance at regular meetings of Council, each member of Council sits on a number of Boards and Committees. These appointments may be to either Town of Viking Advisory Boards and Committees or External Boards and Committees with Regional Partners.

There are 15 boards and committees with Council-representation. Elected officials are appointed to specific boards and committees for one-year terms during the organizational council meeting held in the fall.

Name of Board or CommitteeDescription
Beaver Ambulance SocietyTo provide ambulance services to member municipalities within Beaver County.
Beaver Municipal SolutionsTo promote the advancement of related industries for waste reclamation.
Viking/Beaver Family & Community Support ServicesTo promote and facilitate use of volunteers to enhance strengthen and stabilize family and community life.
Viking Municipal LibraryTo provide comprehensive and efficient library services.
Beaver Foundation Management AgencyTo provide accommodation in a home like atmosphere for Senior Citizens.
Viking Economic Development CommitteeTo promote, expand and enhance the economic development of the Town.
Facilities User MeetingTo update and coordinate the activities of the community facilities and develop a master plan for the Town’s recreation facilities.
Kalyna CountryTo Promote Tourism in North-eastern & Central Alberta.
Highway 14 Regional Water Services CommissionTo provide a safe, secure supply of potable water to the Communities within Beaver County.
Battle River Alliance for Economic DevelopmentTo pursue opportunities for growth & development through regional cooperation and collaboration.
Community Partners for WellnessTo provide for an exchange of information from the various helping professions within the area.
Beaver County Municipalities Joint Council MeetingTo discuss common issues and promote regional cooperation.
Beaver Emergency Services CommissionTo provide Fire Protection and Emergency Management Services within the limits of the Town of Viking.
Beaver County Victim ServicesTo provide Information, Support and Referrals to Victims of Crime and Tragedy.

Mayor - James Buttner

  • Married to Lynette and father to Braedon, Brookelynne, Cohen and Caiden.
  • Owner operator of 6B Welding & Fabrication Ltd.
  • Former president of the Parents Committee (Holden Sea Cadets).
  • Volunteer with Cloverlodge Stampede, Viking Lions, Viking AG Society and Bruce Stampede.
  • Looking forward to working with the community members and supporting businesses.
  • This is Mayor Buttners first term on Council.


Phone: 780-385-1290


Councillor - Judy Acres

Councillor Cindy Lefsrud

  • Councillor Lefsrud was born and raised in Edmonton, AB and moved to Viking in 1993 where she and her husband raised 5 children.
  • Their children all attended and graduated from Viking School.  They are blesses with 4 beautiful grandchildren.
  • She has driven school bus for over 10 years, has previously operated a small catering company, worked for the government and managed different businesses.
  • Previously served on council for 2 years (one as a Councillor and one as Mayor).


Phone: 780-390-0515

Councillor Dana Ewashko

  • Born in Viking, raised on a farm near Innisfree.  
  • Moved to Prince Albert SK in 1986 where he managed a photo finishing/camera shop and then sold life insurance and investment funds
  • Moved to Viking in 1999 to run his own financial and investment business. 
  • Completed his Certified Financial Planning degree. 
  • Joined the Viking Lions Club in 1999 and held the offices of Treasurer, President and now currently Vice President. 
  • Avid fisherman and car enthusiast.
  • This is Councillor Ewashkos second term on Council. 


Phone: 780-385-4888

Councillor Julianna Merta
  • Married with 2 beautiful daughters.
  • Has lived in Viking since 1998. 
  • Head Recreation Coordinator for Wainwright Gymnastics Club and Head Coach for the Viking Gymnastics Club. 
  • Councillor Merta is excited to take on this new council position. She enjoys being involved in the community. She sees our town with such potential and wants to see our town, young generations, and our people succeed and flourish in many ways.
  • This is Councillor Merta's first term on Council


Phone: 780-385-5560